My productivity slash gaming beast

June 08, 2021

I wanted my laptop to be a beast for gaming, I enjoying playing games such as Call of Duty Warzone or Doom Ethernal; some other's more role playing like Cyberpunk. So mostly shooters. Therefore I need great performance.

On the other hand, my intention is to use it to go to class and most likely spend most of the day at uni, so I would also need good battery life. The best laptop I came across which could offer the best of both worlds was the Asus Zephyrus G15, a hell of a machine. Although it doesn't come with an integrated cam, it is surprisingly light and portable (1.9kg,so not super light but for a gaming laptop really awesome).

To boost my battery life I made some research and I came across a great article which detailed some tweaks - you don't have to do all of them - and the result is awesome. In the Asus utility app there is an option to charge the battery up to a maximum of 80% to extend the battery life, and even then, with ony 80% battery, I manage to get at least around 6h.

Tweaks

https://www.reddit.com/r/GamingLaptops/comments/lwd95x/asus_zephyrus_g15_getting_started_tweaks_made/

Only problem I've had till now is, some games like Doom Ethernal or Rage 2, I have to disable amd cpu and re-enable it in order to play the games. Otherwise I get an error like "no gpu devices detected" or something similar. Apparently it is a common error so I don't know why it hasn't been fixed. At least I get to play them :D

Hope the tweaks come in handy for you too. I still can't believe I am able to play cod warzone in such a small "pc" and still get 110+ fps or playing cyberpunk max settings and get around 80fps.

If you are looking into buying a laptop, definitely consider this one. I also liked the razer laptops for their aesthetics or dell xps.

Happy gaming/coding!


Written by Alberto Delgado who loves building cool stuff and learning one or two things in the process.

<Body>

I need to lose some weight

© 2022, Thank you for visiting